How do 'Messages' work on Photocrowd?
How does messaging work?
The Photocrowd Messages system is designed to give you control over your messages, and for you to feel protected from unsolicited messages.
Your messages are accessed from this link whilst signed in to Photocrowd:
You can only send and receive messages once you have verified your email after registration on Photocrowd.
When you hit <return>, this sends a message. To create a new paragraph, use <shift> <return>.
You can delete individual messages. If the message is one that you sent, you can choose whether to delete it just for you, or for both you and the person you sent it to.
You can delete whole conversations. These will just be deleted for you, and not also for the person you were having the conversation with.
If you don’t wish to be contacted by a particular person again, you can block them.
They will not be notified of this, and will not be able to see that you have blocked them. They will still be able to send you messages, but you will not receive them. They will not know that you have not received them.
Blocking someone will also delete your conversation with them up to that point, and you won’t be able to send them any messages whilst you have blocked them.
You can choose to unblock someone later, but that will not then allow you to see any messages they might have sent you whilst they were blocked.
We take the safety of our community very seriously. If you feel that you have been sent inappropriate messages from another Photocrowd member, please report them to us using the ‘Report this user’ button.
We will have a look at their messaging history and take appropriate action. If we contact them about their behaviour or take action against them we will not identify the person who has reported them.
Restricting who can send you messages
By selecting “Only allow people I follow to message me” you will only receive messages from people you follow on Photocrowd.
Messages sent to you by people you don’t follow will still be visible by you, but are on a different screen and can be easily ignored. If any of these messages are unwanted and inappropriate then you can use the ‘block’ and ‘report’ functionality for those people.
When others on Photocrowd try and send you a message, they will be able to see that you only accept messages from people you follow.